Two months down..Six to go

Two Months down..Six to go

7:15 A.M.

I rose from my warm bed to greet the cold and I slowly slipped on my very, handy dandy, flip flops, as I make my way downstairs for breakfast.


Breakfast Menu:

Black coffee with sugar


An Egg or sausage

7:45 A.M.



I waddle my way back upstairs to get dressed for my day, which consist of jeans,wool socks, hiking boots and a sweatshirt. Once, before I leave my room I check my backpack for everything I need for the day: sunscreen,umbrella,rain jacket, water and chapstick.


8:30 A.M.

I walk up the massive dirt hill which usually knocks the wind out of me to reach the town square of Gullanzhapa to catch my bus to work. It takes about ten to fifteen minutes by bus to get to Yurka Allpa.

9:00 A.M.- 12:00 P.M.



I am working my butt off either cleaning the pathways of the zoo (Which I quite enjoy – the most), cleaning the enclosures ( Meaning I actually get to go inside the cages and hang out with all the animals) or prepping food with my co-worker Maria (Cutting bananas all day)


12:00- 1:00 P.M.



I walk across the street to my supervisors house and enjoy the company of his six dogs. I really only eat lunch for fifteen minutes and then I return outside to be smothered by the dogs, whom I have given nicknames too.


Lunch Menu:

Freshly made Juego/Juice

Chicken Sopa/Soup


Chicken or Beef

Mixed Vegetables

1:00-3:15 P.M.



I finish off my day at work with Maria to prep tomorrow’s meals for the animals and I head off to sit in this little spot right outside of my conservation center to wait for the bus.

3:30 P.M.

I try to my best wave down the bus and run over to jump on before it decides to leave without me. By this time in the afternoon the bus is packed, translated, I tend to stand on the stairs which face out to the road, which can be quite fun when the bus driver decides to leave the door open. Talk about an adrenaline rush.

4:00 P.M.

I return to my house greeted by our dog Mickey, who is beyond sweet. Since my host mom is still out working, I either, have to use great creativity to find the keys to the front door, or I enter through the back of the house. I then enjoy about an hour or so of free time, consisting of web surfing or talking to friends! A world away, but not by google’s ingenuity!

5:00-8:00 P.M.

“TOMAR UN CAFE AMIGA!” Everyday my little sister yells up the stairs to notify me that the coffee is ready. I shuffle out of my room to join my host mom and sister in the kitchen to enjoy the hot cup of coffee, which is quite amazing, if I do say myself! I tend to pair my coffee with a croissant, but I am currently loving Pan de Queso (Bread with a cheese filling). My host dad arrives home around 7:00 P.M. from working in Cuenca. By this time my host mom is almost done preparing dinner for us, so I usually fill this time up with conversation with my family about our day until dinner is served. It is wonderful!


Dinner Menu:


Chicken or Fish

Cabbage with lime or Avocado

8:00-9:15 P.M.



After dinner is finished, we usually all vacate to our rooms for the night. My night can vary from watching some shows on my laptop to reading a few chapters of the “Orphan Train” and this leads me to fall asleep by nine fifteen ready to awake to a new adventure in Ecuador!!!


Thank you to everyone who has made this amazing opportunity available to me! Your generosity is beyond appreciated!


Un Abrazo,